Only 39 employability days till Christmas!

Time flies when you are having fun!  Soon many of you will be seeing friends and family for the Christmas vacation. 

Someone is bound to ask if you have got a job yet or what your plans are for next year.  AWKWARD!

Which of the following best describes your response?

  •  I’m in my first year – I have plenty of time to worry about that.
  •  I have enough money I don’t need to get a job yet.
  •  There are no jobs.
  •  I’m taking a gap year to go travelling so I don’t need to think about a career.
  • I’m going to leave it till I graduate.
  • I’m concentrating on my degree.
  •  I’ve no idea about career options.

If any of the above describe your response then there are a few things you should be aware of …. 

 I’m In my first year – I have plenty of time to worry about that?
If you don’t start getting work experience or gaining skills through society work, volunteering or part time jobs – you will struggle to get a placement or internship in your second year. Find out more about getting experience.

I have enough money I don’t need to get a job yet.
You may have enough money but if your CV shows no evidence of skills gained through a variety of activities including work – then you will find it harder to find a job when you need one . Apart from anything else you will need an employer reference for many jobs.

There are no jobs!
Convenient isn’t it, no need to fill in all those tiresome applications!  IT’S A MYTH – the press is full of them, convenient statistics that make good stories. The good news is there are loads of jobs, even better- half of the applications for them will be so bad they will get rejected outright.  Make a decent application for a relevant role and your chances are not as bad as you think.

I’m taking a gap year to go travelling so I don’t need to think about a career.
Whenever you take a gap year (before, during or at the end of your course) you need to think ahead or you could end up spending a long time filling in time because you have missed out on opportunities while you were away.  Travelling is great but you are going to have to sell the benefits of your time out on your CV  to a future employer, so do something worthwhile.

I’m going to leave it till I graduate.
Yes some people do put off making decisions till after graduation and it can work out ok, IF you have already made steps to make yourself employable ( had work experience, volunteered etc).  Some employers will have immediate start graduate schemes available – usually advertised at the Summer Fair in June.  To take advantage of this you really need to have considered your career direction in advance!

I’m concentrating on my degree.
It’s great to be committed to your degree programme but there will be other students with a 1st who have had internships, run societies,  and volunteered, so you are competing against them!

I’ve no idea about career options.
That’s ok but it doesn’t stop you getting a part time job, volunteering or getting involved with extracurricular activities.  Once you start getting experience you begin to understand what you like and dislike in different roles and you can evaluate what you would and would not want to do in your next job.  Not everyone decides on a career age 14, sometimes you have to experience something before you know you would like it. 

 So go on do something to make yourself employable!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

